Scientific advisory board

The Scientific Advisory Board is an independent committee of internationally renowned professors of financial economics.

The board supports the NFI by providing independent, credible and impartial recommendations on academic matters, such as the evaluation of candidates for co-sponsored professorships, PhD programmes or submitted research proposals.

Academics appointed to serve as members of the Scientific Advisory Board:

  • Thierry Foucault is Professor of Finance at HEC, Paris and a research fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy (CEPR). He is currently an Associate Editor of the Journal of Finance, The Review of Financial Studies, and the Review of Asset Pricing Studies. He has a Ph.D. in Finance from HEC, Paris and he has taught in various institutions.​​

    ​​​​​He serves or has served on the scientific committees of the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), the Research Foundation of the Banque de France, the Group of Economic Advisors of the Committee of Economic and Markets Analysis of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) and was a member the executive committee of the European Finance Association (EFA). He also was co-editor of the Review of Finance from 2009 to 2013. He co-authored, with Marco Pagano and Ailsa Röell, “Market Liquidity: Theory, Evidence, and Policy”, a textbook on market liquidity published by Oxford University Press in 2013.

  • Laura Starks teaches undergraduate and graduate courses on environmental, social and governance investing, global financial strategies, and other finance topics. She has previously served as interim Dean, Associate Dean for Research, Chairman of the Department of Finance and Graduate Advisor. She was also an editor of the Review of Financial Studies from 2008-2014.

    She holds a Ph. D from the University of Texas at Austin, MBA from the University of Texas at San Antonio, and a B.A. from University of Texas at Austin.

    She has served on the Boards of Directors of the four national academic finance organizations: the American Finance Association, the Financial Management Association (FMA), the Society of Financial Studies (SFS) and the Western Finance Association (WFA). She is past president of the FMA and WFA and is currently President of the SFS. She is a past Chairman of the Graduate Assembly for the University of Texas at Austin, the elected faculty council that governs the University’s graduate programs, and served on the Executive Committee of the University Faculty Council. She is an independent director for CREF Retirement Accounts and TIAA-CREF Mutual Funds, serves on the Investment Advisory Committee for the Employees Retirement System of Texas, the Board of Governors of the Investment Company Institute, and the Governing Council of the Independent Directors Council.

  • Bo Becker is a professor in the Department of Finance at the Stockholm School of Economics. He previously worked at the University of Illinois and at Harvard Business School. He has served on the board of directors of the Swedish National Debt Office and was previously a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). He is an associate editor of the Review of Financial Studies and Program Director for the Mistra Financial System research program.

    Professor Becker holds a master’s degree from the Stockholm School of Economics and a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.

    His research is on corporate finance. Recent research topics include corporate credit markets, bank lending, credit ratings and restructuring. His research has been published in top academic such as the Journal of Finance, the Journal of Monetary Economics, the Journal of Financial Economics and the Review of Financial Studies. Professor Becker has been awarded several prizes and grants, including the Standard Life Prize for best paper in the ECGI Finance WP series, the Nordea Price for Best Corporate Finance Paper at the European Finance Association’s annual meeting and the Lamfalussy Research Fellowship from the European Central Bank.

For more information, please contact:
Torill Kristin Fjellanger
E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: +47 941 52 570

Last saved: 19/03/2021

Related pages